Dr. grandma

My mum is awesome

A-W-E-S-O-M-E

While growing up, I always thought she knew just about about everything: she was there every afternoon in case I needed help with homework, she helped me learn the states capitals, multiplying tables, trigonometry, organic chemistry… the lot

She knew who axl rose and jon bonjovi were, and read peacefully the newspaper while i was listening to those gods.

Now that I am a mum, her awesomeness just keeps on pouring. What do you do when your first born baby has a dry cough in the middle of the night? Well, I personally, check all the windows in case of drafts, put an extra blanket on him, take the blanket off when he keeps coughing while sweating, put socks on, take socks off, check the internet of dry cough causes and treatments, consider for a second giving him a ginger tea with honey and lemon and finally…. email my mum, or  should i say… Dr. grandma.

My mum is not a doctor, she majored in journalism but my mum knows EVERYTHING!

Dr. grandma said to rub a little vicks on his feet and then put the socks back on.

Lets take a moment here: while i was growing up, vicks vapor rub represented the essence of being old. Nobody but “old people” used it: my dad, my grand parents, my great aunty Isa … all old!

I still remember a tragic sunday when Isa came to visit and unfortunately, found my 7 y.o. self with a terrible cold.. “what you need is a rub with vicks” … I was too young and too sick to resist… and off she went

rub, rub, rub, rub on my back … ” you need now to keep warm for the full effect”, and she grabbed my favorite red sweatshirt … the one that until this day , i am sure, stinks of vicks… tragic

Then and there I rebelled to that useless, stinky, anachronistic remedy. My mum never really used it with me that I recall, so there was no massive stance, just a mental note, there in the back of my mind saying: “I hate vicks”

Now let’s come back 30 years to the present day, Dr. grandma was prescribing this, so what to do? listen to my 7 yo self or listen to dr. grandma??? To ease the discomfort of my son I decided to go take my chances and …

rub, rub, rubbed vicks on his feet and back on went the socks

and dear reader, do you know what happened?

My baby stop coughing after a few minutes.

Since that night, this has worked flawlessly for 3 other dry-cough episodes, I even have special “vicks-socks” ( common socks that are stored separately from his other socks, so he doesn’t stink of vicks when not coughing).

I am a believer now

Thank you Dr. grandma

My mum is awesome and I love my mum

Leave a Reply

